Listen: Built to Spill announce Daniel Johnston covers album, share cover of ‘Bloody Rainbow’

'Built to Spill Plays the Songs of Daniel Johnston' drops on May 1

Built to Spill have announced that they’ll be releasing a Daniel Johnston covers album aptly titled Built to Spill Plays the Songs of Daniel Johnston, which is set for release on May 1st. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared their own rendition of “Bloody Rainbow.”

Johnston died of a heart attack last year at age 58, and now Built to Spill are paying tribute to him with this covers album. The record was recorded by Doug Martsch, Jason Albertini, and Steve Gere back in 2018 prior to Johnston’s death, as Built to Spill had been rehearsing for performances as Johnston’s backing band.

“It was pretty special for us,” Martsch told Rolling Stone of the album. “Basically we wanted to get good documentation of what our rehearsals were like. It was a lot heavier than what I thought it would be.”

Listen to “Bloody Rainbow” and check out the tracklist for the album below.

Built to Spill Plays the Songs of Daniel Johnston Tracklist:

01 – “Bloody Rainbow”
02 – “Tell Me Now”
03 – “Honey I Sure Miss You”
04 – “Good Morning You”
05 – “Heart, Mind and Soul”
06 – “Life In Vain”
07 – “Mountain Top”
08 – “Queenie The Dog”
09 – “Impossible Love”
10 – “Fake Records Of Rock & Roll”
11 – “Fish”