Listen: Calexico and Iron & Wine drop new track ‘Father Mountain,’ announce new collaborative album

'Years to Burn' is set for release on June 14

Iron & Wine and Calexico have just announced that they’ll be collaborating once again for the release of a new album, Years to Burn. As part of the announcement, they’ve dropped a new track called “Father Mountain.”

The tune is pretty jangly, with smooth, gritty vocals atop a bouncy instrumental track. “Life is hard. Awesome. And scary as shit. But it can lift you up if you let it,” Sam Beam explains of the album in a statement. “The title can encapsulate a lot of things. Years to Burn could mean you’re cocky, you’ve got it made. Or, our life is ours to burn, to be inspired. Or you’re burned by life, brutalized. It’s an ambiguous title, because life is complicated.”

Listen to “Father Mountain” and check out the tracklist for Years to Burn below.

Years to Burn Tracklist:

01 – “What Heaven’s Left”
02 – “Midnight Sun”
03 – “Father Mountain”
04 – “Outside El Paso”
05 – “Follow The Water”
06 – “The Bitter Suite (Pájaro / Evil Eye / Tennessee Train)”
07 – “Years to Burn”
08 – “In Your Own Time”
The album is set to drop on June 14th via Sub Pop.