Listen: City and Colour releases ‘Living in Lightning,’ announces new album ‘A Pill For Loneliness’

His sixth studio album is set for release on October 4

City and Colour, also known as Dallas Green, has announced his forthcoming sixth studio album A Pill For Loneliness, which is set for release on October 4th. As part of the announcement, he’s released the album’s opening track, “Living in Lightning.”

The new tune is a powerful example of Green’s songwriting skills, as it comes packed with a driven drum line and dreamy electric guitar lines as Green’s silky vocals take the lead. The track is filled with vulnerable, poetic lyricism, with picturesque lines like, “You wear these brooding ghosts/ Tattered and tied around your throat/ They’re weighing you down like a stone/ They might never let you go.”

“I wrote a lot of dark songs and wrapped them in the most beautiful sounds we could find,” Green explains of the album in a statement. “There are personal connotations, but they’re also relatable. I’m thankful for the opportunity to create.”

Listen to “Living in Lightning” and check out the tracklist for A Pill For Loneliness below.

A Pill For Loneliness Tracklist:

01 – “Living in Lightning”
02 – “Astronaut”
03 – “Imagination”
04 – “Difficult Love”
05 – “Me and the Moonlight”
06 – “Mountain of Madness”
07 – “Song of Unrest”
08 – “Strangers”
09 – “The War Years”
10 – “Young Lovers”
11 – “Lay Me Down”

Catch City and Colour at the Scotiabank Arena on November 22nd.