Listen: Decoration Day share new single ‘Lanark County,’ announce debut album ‘Makeshift Future’

'Makeshift Future' drops on September 18

Toronto folk outfit Decoration Day have announced their debut album Makeshift Future, which is set for release on September 18th. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared the first single “Lanark County.”

“It follows a kind of surreal dream logic,” guitarist Justin Orok explains. “The imagery comes out of this just-below-the-surface hostility I would feel when visiting idyllic small town Ontario; somehow, it ended up sounding almost biblical. Shortly after writing this song, I ended up moving to Lanark County, and started to understand where that hostile feeling comes from.”

The upcoming album is about questioning how to make your way through life, and trying to figure out how to move through the challenge of uncertainty.

Listen to “Lanark County” and check out the tracklist for Makeshift Future below.

Makeshift Future Tracklist:

01 – “Makeshift Future”
02 – “Wild Birds Unlimited”
03 – “Harry Goes To War”
04 – “Miracle Island”
05 – “Cattails”
06 – “Sandess in Disguise”
07 – “Lanark County”
08 – “Paintlounge”
09 – “Fire Ecology”
10 – “Meadows”
Lead photo courtesy of Brianna Roye.