HomeMusicMusic NewsListen: Frank Turner drops 'Sister Rosetta,' announces forthcoming album and podcast series

Listen: Frank Turner drops ‘Sister Rosetta,’ announces forthcoming album and podcast series

Frank Turner has announced that he’ll be releasing his forthcoming album No Man’s Land later this year. As part of the announcement, he’s dropped the lead single, “Sister Rosetta.”

The album was inspired by the tale of Jinny Bingham, who was an alleged witch that lived in Camden in the 1600s. The record will explore other remarkable women marginalized by history across thirteen tracks, with each tune telling the tale of a different woman. Some of the figures featured on the album include Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Egyptian feminist Huda Sha’arawi, Dora Hand, and Nica Rothschild.

Listen to “Sister Rosetta” below.

In addition to the album, Frank turner has put together a 13-episode podcast series, with each episode exploring a track from the album

Check out the tracklist for No Man’s Land below.
No Man’s Land tracklist:

01 – “Jinny Bingham’s Ghost”
02 – “Sister Rosetta”
03 – “I believed You, William Blake”
04 – “Nica”
05 – “A Perfect Wife”
06 – “Silent Key”
07 – “Eye of the Day”
08 – “The Death of Dora Hand”
09 – “The Graveyard of the Outcast Dead”
10 – “The Lioness”
11 – “The Hymn of Kassiani”
12 – “Rescue Annie”
13 – “Rosemary Jane”

Most Popular