HomeMusic NewsNew ReleasesListen: Hot Chip share cover of Velvet Underground's 'Candy Says,' announce 'Late...

Listen: Hot Chip share cover of Velvet Underground’s ‘Candy Says,’ announce ‘Late Night Tales’ compilation

Electronic outfit Hot Chip have announced that they’ve signed up to curate the latest entry in the Late Night Tales mix series, which is set for release on October 2nd. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared a cover The Velvet Underground’s “Candy Says.”

The new 19-track compilation is set to arrive on October 2nd, and it features three new Hot Chip tracks in addition to a cover of The Velvet Underground’s “Candy Says.” Hot Chip’s collection of Late Night Tales was spearheaded by the band’s Alexis Taylor and Joe Goddard.

“We’ve put together a mix of music which ties all of these ideas together and represents some of our favourite music new and old, some of it directly influential on Hot Chip and some of it music we have discovered and loved, been surprised by and connected to,” Taylor explains. “There are three new songs of ours which we’re really proud of, and which I think connect naturally with the nocturnal world the compilation speaks of, and a cover of ‘Candy Says’ which is one of the first songs the very early version of Hot Chip played when we were still at school.”

Listen to Hot Chip’s cover of “Candy Says” and check out the tracklist for Late Night Tales below.

Late Night Tales Tracklist:

01 – Christina Vantzou – “At Dawn”
02 – Hot Chip – “Nothing’s Changed” (Exclusive track)
03 – Rhythm & Sound feat. Cornell Campbell – “King In My Empire”
04 – Pale Blue – “Have You Passed Through This Night”
05 – Suzanne Kraft – “Femme Cosmic”
06 – Fever Ray – “To The Moon And Back”
07 – PlanningToRock – “Much To Touch”
08 – Charlotte Adigery – “1,618”
09 – Mike Salta – “Hey Moloko”
10 – Matthew Bourne – “Somewhere I Have Never Travelled”
11 – Hot Chip – “Candy Says” (Velvet Underground cover version – Exclusive Track)
12 – Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – “Who I Am & Why I Am Where”
13 – About Group – “The Long Miles”
14 – Beatrice Dillon – “Workaround Two”
15 – Hot Chip – “Worlds Within Worlds” (Exclusive Track)
16 – Daniel Blumberg – “The Bomb”
17 – Nils Frahm – “Ode”
18 – Hot Chip – “None Of These Things” (Exclusive track)
19 – Neil Taylor – “Finnegans Wake” excerpt (Exclusive track)

Most Popular