HomeMusicMusic NewsListen: Iggy Pop announces forthcoming album 'Free,' drops title track

Listen: Iggy Pop announces forthcoming album ‘Free,’ drops title track

Iggy Pop has just announced his forthcoming album Free, which is set for release on September 6th, and as part of the announcement, he’s dropped the title track to the album.

“This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice,” Iggy Pop explains in a statement. “By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long. But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need – not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free.”

The title track to the album is an ambient, instrumental-based track that comes packed with wailing horns, and eerie, atmospheric soundscapes.

Listen to “Free” and check out the album’s tracklist below.

Free Tracklist:

01 – “Free”
02 – “Loves Missing”
03 – “Sonali”
04 – “James Bond”
05 – “Dirty Sanchez”
06 – “Glow In The Dark”
07 – “Page”
08 – “We Are The People”
09 – “Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night”
10 – “The Dawn”
Lead photo courtesy of Raph_PH on Flickr.

Most Popular