HomeMusic NewsNew ReleasesListen: Jay Som drops two new tracks 'A Thousand Words' and 'Can't...

Listen: Jay Som drops two new tracks ‘A Thousand Words’ and ‘Can’t Sleep’

Jay Som has shared two new songs, “A Thousand Words” and “Can’t Sleep,” which were recorded sessions for Anak Ko, but did not make the final tracklist. The two tracks will be released as a 7-inch single via Polyvinyl, and are currently available to stream. The vinyl will be released on May 1st.

“This song was made after a year of extensive touring plus a cancelled tour,” Som explains of “A Thousand Words.” “I forced myself to make a sort of big and jovial song to bring me out of the funk I was in. I also wanted to remind myself that music can be fun! It was heavily inspired by Bruce Springsteen, Elliott Smith, Pavement and that song ‘Alright’ by Supergrass.”

She then went on to explain “Can’t Sleep,” which “was made in August or September 2017 while I was living with my parents in between U.S. tours, before I moved to LA. I think I had all my gear packed away somewhere that I couldn’t access, so I used instruments left over in my childhood room: a broken acoustic guitar, chopsticks on a snare drum, a bad hi hat, and my trumpet. Everything was recorded through the laptop mic. I was pretty frustrated with the California heat and the fact that I couldn’t record properly, so this sort of fever dream song was born.”

Listen to “A Thousand Words” and “Can’t Sleep” below.

Most Popular