HomeMusicListen: Lucinda Williams shares cover of Sharon Van Etten's 'Save Yourself'

Listen: Lucinda Williams shares cover of Sharon Van Etten’s ‘Save Yourself’

Sharon Van Etten is gearing up for the release of a 10th anniversary reissue of epic, which will come with a reissue of the original album alongside a slew of artists covering tracks from the album. So far, we’ve gotten covers from Big Red Machine and IDLES, and today Lucinda Williams has covered “Save Yourself.”

“Here is a photo with me, @lucinda_williams, and Nora Guthrie after Lucinda’s show in Tarrytown in May 2016,” Van Etten writes on Instagram. “This was the first time Lucinda and I met. I shyly came back stage after being invited and she walked up to me with a glass of wine in her hand singing ‘Every time the sun comes up I’m in trouble…’. I wanted to cry. Cannot believe she made the time to cover my song with such devotion.”

With gritty guitar lines and powerful, crooning vocals, this cover is sure to get you emotional as Williams delivers melancholic lines like, “Don’t you think I know/ You’re only trying to save yourself.”

Listen to Williams’ cover of “Save Yourself” below.

epic Ten is set to feature covers from Fiona Apple, Courtney Barnett with Vagabon, Big Red Machine (Aaron Dessner and Justin Vernon), Lucinda Williams, IDLES, Shamir, and St. Panther.

epic represents a crossroads for me as an artist,” Van Etten adds of the album. “Going from intern to artist at Ba Da Bing, from solo folk singer to playing with a band for the first time and beginning to play shows on tour where people showed up. I am in awe of the artists who wanted to participate in celebrating my anniversary and reissue, from young inspiring musicians, to artists who took me under their wing, who I met on tour, and to artists I’ve looked up to since I was a teenager. Each one of these artists continue to influence my writing and provide a sense of camaraderie during this new era of sharing music.”

Revisit the tracklist of the covers album half of epic Ten below.

epic Ten Covers Tracklist:

01 – “A Crime” – Big Red Machine
02 – “Peace Signs” – IDLES
03 – “Save Yourself” – Lucinda Williams
04 – “DsharpG” – Shamir
05 – “Don’t Do It” – Courtney Barnett (ft. Vagabon)
06 – “One Day” – St. Panther
07 – “Love More” – Fiona Apple

Most Popular