Listen: Marika Hackman covers Grimes’ ‘Realiti,’ announces new covers album

'Covers' is set for release on November 13

British singer-songwriter Marika Hackman has announced a new covers album, aptly titled Covers, which is set for release on November 13th. As part of the announcement, Hackman has shared a cover of Grimes’ “Realiti.”

The new album, which was recorded at her and her parents’ homes during quarantine, sees Hackman covering tracks from Alvvays, Beyoncé, Air, Edith Grost, Grimes, Elliott Smith, Muna, Radiohead, Sharon Van Etten, and The Shins.

“When it comes to covers, I like to pick songs which I have been listening to obsessively for a while,” Hackman explains. “It gives me a natural understanding of the music, and lets me be more innovative with how I transform it.”

Listen to Hackman’s cover of “Realiti” and check out the tracklist for Covers below.

Covers Tracklist:

01 – “You Never Wash Up After Yourself” (Radiohead)
02 – “Phantom Limb” (The Shins)
03 – “Playground Love” (Air)
04 – “Realiti” (Grimes)
05 – “Jupiter 4” (Sharon Van Etten)
06 – “Pink Light” (Muna)
07 – “Between the Bars” (Elliott Smith)
08 – “Temporary Loan” (Edith Frost)
09 – “In Undertow” (Alvvays)
10 – “All Night” (Beyoncé)
Lead photo courtesy of Luka Booth.