HomeMusicListen: Members of Flaming Lips, Slowdive form Beachy Head, share lead single...

Listen: Members of Flaming Lips, Slowdive form Beachy Head, share lead single ‘Destroy Us’

Members of The Flaming Lips, Slowdive, Casket Girls, and The Soft Cavalry have linked up to form a new supergroup called Beachy Head. They’ve announced their self-titled debut album, which is set for release on April 30th, and shared a new single called “Destroy Us.”

The band revealed on Bandcamp that Slowdive’s Christian Savill began making demos back in 2019, and then sent them to The Casket Girls and Dreamend’s Graveface and The Soft Cavalry’s Steve Clark. Graveface and Savill then recorded instrumental structures for the tracks just two weeks before the COVID-19 lockdown.

Then, Flaming Lips drummer Matt Duckworth added in his own recordings, and Clarke expanded with some harmonies and instrumentation before Slowdive’s Rachel Goswell sang on some of the tunes. “Destroy Us” is a dreamy, psychedelic preview of the album, with warping instrumentals and silky, distorted vocals.

Listen to the lead single “Destroy Us” below.

Beachy Head says that the band and album is named after a cliff in Sussex that is “one of Britain’s most popular beauty spots but also a notorious suicide spot.”

Check out the tracklist for Beachy Head below.
Beachy Head Tracklist:

01 – “Warning Bell”
02 – “Michael”
03 – “Distraction”
04 – “All Gone”
05 – “Looking for Exits”
06 – “October”
07 – “Hiddensee”
08 – “Destroy Us”

Most Popular