Listen: Modest Mouse release new track ‘We Are Between,’ announce first album in six years

'The Golden Casket' is out on June 25

Modest Mouse have announces their first full-length album in six years, The Golden Casket, which arrives on June 25th via Epic. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared an anthemic new single, “We Are Between.”

The gritty new tune is quintessential Modest Mouse, with driven, layered guitar riffs and a steady percussion line, as frontman Isaac Brock delivers catchy lines like, “We are between, we are between, yeah we are/ Somewhere between dust and the stars/ Swung open then slam shut/ Yeah but here we are.”

The forthcoming album, which marks the follow-up to 2015’s Strangers to Ourselves, was recorded in Los Angeles and Modest Mouse’s studio in Portland.

Listen to “We Are Between” below.

“The album hovers in the liminal space between raw punk power and experimental studio science,” a press release explains of the forthcoming album, “frontman Isaac Brock explores themes ranging from the degradation of our psychic landscapes and invisible technology, to fatherhood. The twelve tracks behave like amorphous organisms, undergoing dramatic mutations and mood swings that speak to the chronic tug-of-war between hope and despair that plays out in Brock’s head.”

Check out the tracklist for The Golden Casket below.
The Golden Casket Tracklist:

01 – “Fuck Your Acid Trip”
02 – “We Are Between”
03 – “We’re Lucky”
04 – “Walking and Running”
05 – “Wooden Soldiers”
06 – “Transmitting Receiving”
07 – “The Sun Hasn’t Left”
08 – “Lace Your Shoes”
09 – “Never Fuck A Spider On the Fly”
10 – “Leave A Light On”
11 – “Japanese Trees”
12 – “Back to the Middle”