HomeMusicListen: Sam Fender announces new album, releases title track ‘Seventeen Going Under’

Listen: Sam Fender announces new album, releases title track ‘Seventeen Going Under’

UK singer-songwriter Sam Fender has officially announced his second album Seventeen Going Under with the single release of the LP’s title track.

Seventeen Going Under will be released on October 8th and is the follow-up to his debut album Hypersonic Missiles from 2019. Sam Fender told NME last year that this record is “miles better” than his first LP.

The new single features shiny electric riffs and bouncy percussion that serves powerful purpose underneath Fender’s fervent vocals.

Listen to “Seventeen Going Under” below.

Speaking on the new record Fender revealed,

“This album is a coming of age story. It’s about growing up. It’s a celebration of life after hardship, and it’s a celebration of surviving.”

“There’s still a bit of Springsteen on the second one, always, but there’s also bits of Joni Mitchell, War On Drugs, Pinegrove and Big Thief. All the American shite!”

Additionally, Fender says that his first album lyrically was from a perspective looking outwards whereas the new record will be very much an inwards reflection about his own life.

Seventeen Going Under Tracklist:

01 – Seventeen Going Under
02 – Getting Started
03 – Aye
04 – Get You Down
05 – Long Way Off
06 – Spit Of You
7 – Last To Make It Home
8 – The Leveller
9 – Mantra
10 – Paradigms
11 – The Dying Light

Most Popular