HomeMusic NewsNew ReleasesListen: Scott Hardware shares new single 'Joy,' announces new album 'Engel'

Listen: Scott Hardware shares new single ‘Joy,’ announces new album ‘Engel’

Toronto’s Scott Hardware has announced the release of his second full-length record Engel, which is set for release on April 3rd, 2020. As part of the announcement, he’s released a new single called “Joy.”

The new track is “a song not about experiencing Joy but a promise to myself to keep looking for it,” Hardware explains in a statement. “Reading the lyrics back revealed to me that I consider this pretty hard work; I’d have to keep pushing the boundaries of my own spirituality, sexuality and relationships to find it. By the end of the song I’m begging no one and nothing in particular to ‘give me to my Joy.'”

“Joy” revolves around a frantic drum line and shimmering keys as Hardware’s silky drawls take the lead, delivering lines like, “And I dig my hands into the dirt/ And my hands to the centre of the earth/ In search of my joy.”

Listen to “Joy” and check out the tracklist for Engel below.

Engel Tracklist:

01 – “Intro”
02 – “Millionaire”
03 – “Blu Again”
04 – “Joy”
05 – “Engel”
06 – “Left Hand”
07 – “Bound Together”
08 – “Survivor’s Guilt”
Catch Scott Hardware at The Boat on January 30th, 2020.
Lead photo courtesy of Shelby Fenlon.

Most Popular