HomeNew ReleasesAlbum StreamsListen: Stream Bloc Party's First Album in Four Years 'Hymns'

Listen: Stream Bloc Party’s First Album in Four Years ‘Hymns’

Bloc Party has just dropped an exclusive stream of their 5th album Hymns, ahead of its expected release on Friday (Jan. 29).

A few things have changed since their last album release four years ago. The band members Kele Okereke (singer) and Russell Lissack (guitarist) remain, but two new members have joined. 21-year-old drummer, Louise Bartle was found by the two remaining members via YouTube, and bassist Justin Harris was another addition.

Hymns opens with “The Love Within”, upbeat and layered with manipulated synths. This first track doesn’t expose the album as a whole. Okereke describes Hymns:

“I see HYMNS as an exploration of all the things that I hold sacred in my life,” explains Okereke. “I’m not a religious person however I’m starting to realize that i do have a spiritual dimension and HYMNS was a way of celebrating the things that matter to me, from the stars and the moon, through to the rivers and the sea, as well as the joys of sex and intimacy. It’s when I experience these things that I feel I am in the presence of the divine, so I wanted the HYMNS to reflect that.”

Listen to Hymns in full below.

Hymns is officially on sale this Friday (Jan. 29).

Most Popular