Listen: The Black Keys cover John Lee Hooker’s ‘Crawlin’ King Snake,’ announce covers album ‘Delta Kream’

'Delta Kream' is set for release on May 14

The Black Keys have announced a new covers album called Delta Kream, which is set for release on May 14th, and today they’ve shared a cover of John Lee Hooker’s 1941 blues tune, “Crawlin’ King Snake.”

The forthcoming album will see the duo sharing a slew of covers from artists that have influenced them throughout their career. According to their fan club website, Delta Kream “honors [the] music of Mississippi Hill Country Blues, R.L. Burnside & Junior Kimbrough, among others who have influenced The Black Keys.”

The Black Keys’ cover of Hooker’s tune is called “Crawling Kingsnake,” and they shared it at their fan club website, which you can register to for free.

Check out the tracklist for Delta Kream below.
Delta Kream Tracklist:

01 – “Crawling Kingsnake (John Lee Hooker / Bernard Besman)”
02 – “Louise (Fred McDowell)”
03 – “Poor Boy A Long Way From Home (Robert Lee Burnside)”
04 – “Stay All Night (David Kimbrough, Jr.)”
05 – “Going Down South (Robert Lee Burnside)”
06 – “Coal Black Mattie (Ranie Burnette)”
07 – “Do the Romp (David Kimbrough, Jr.)”
08 – “Sad Days, Lonely Nights (David Kimbrough, Jr.)”
09 – “Walk with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)”
10 – “Mellow Peaches (Joseph Lee Williams)”
11 – “Come on and Go with me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)”