Listen: The Black Keys share cover of R.L. Burnside’s ‘Going Down South’

Their blues covers album 'Delta Kream' arrives on May 14

The Black Keys are readying their 10th album, Delta Kream, which is set to be made up of 11 blues covers. Today, The Black Keys have shared their cover of R.L. Burnside’s “Going Down South.”

Following the previously released cover of John Lee Hooker’s “Crawling Kingsnake,” The Black Keys’ rendition of “Going Down South” is a sunny cover, revolving around a slick guitar riff, soft percussion lines, and silky falsettos.

“That was one of R.L. Burnside’s hits,” The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach explains. “We strayed a little from the original on our version with the falsetto and percussion, but we liked how it sounded in that moment. It’s become one of my favorites on the album.”

Listen to The Black Keys’ cover of “Going Down South” below.

Delta Kream is set for release on May 14th. Revisit the tracklist for the album below.

Delta Kream Tracklist:

01 – “Crawling Kingsnake (John Lee Hooker / Bernard Besman)”
02 – “Louise (Fred McDowell)”
03 – “Poor Boy A Long Way From Home (Robert Lee Burnside)”
04 – “Stay All Night (David Kimbrough, Jr.)”
05 – “Going Down South (Robert Lee Burnside)”
06 – “Coal Black Mattie (Ranie Burnette)”
07 – “Do the Romp (David Kimbrough, Jr.)”
08 – “Sad Days, Lonely Nights (David Kimbrough, Jr.)”
09 – “Walk with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)”
10 – “Mellow Peaches (Joseph Lee Williams)”
11 – “Come on and Go with me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)”

Lead photo courtesy of Joshua Black Wilkins.