HomeNew ReleasesAlbum StreamsListen: Toronto's Absolutely Free release single 'How To Paint Clouds', announce new...

Listen: Toronto’s Absolutely Free release single ‘How To Paint Clouds’, announce new album ‘Aftertouch’

Today (June 25), Toronto’s psychedelic-trio Absolutely Free have announced their long-awaited new album Aftertouch. This will mark their first album since their 2014 self-titled LP. Aftertouch is set for release in full on September 24 via Boiled Records.

Aftertouch is only their second proper studio LP as a group, although they have kept very busy over the years with soundtracks, EPs and solo work.

To accompany the announcement, Absolutely Free has released a new single “How to Paint Clouds” alongside a music video. The AI-generated video is made from 2,000 internet-sourced paintings of clouds that teach a computer to create its own original paintings of clouds. In a statement, the band said,

“Although there are unimaginable forces at play in developing a cloud, or in creating art, all we are able to look for is another face in the sky, a mirror looking back at us. A cloud always looks like something other than a cloud.”

Listen to “How To Paint Clouds” below.

Speaking on the new album, the band explained, they “wanted to create an album that wasn’t bound by a physical ability to perform it live, to not only expand our palette, but also to consider the live performance as something completely separate.”

Aftertouch Tracklist:

01 – Epilogue (After Touch)
02 – How To Paint Clouds
03 – Interface
04 – Remaining Light
05 – Still Life
06 – Are They Signs?
07 – Clear Blue Sky
08 – Morning Sun

Most Popular