HomeMusic NewsNew ReleasesListen: Violent Femmes announce forthcoming album 'Hotel Last Resort,' share title track...

Listen: Violent Femmes announce forthcoming album ‘Hotel Last Resort,’ share title track featuring Television guitarist Tom Verlaine

Folk-punk band Violent Femmes have just announced their forthcoming album, Hotel Last Resort, and as part of the announcement they’ve dropped the title track, which features Television guitarist Tom Verlaine.

The surreal five-minute long tune comes packed with warped acoustic strumming, Verlaine’s groovy guitar lines, and gritty, waning vocal lines as frontman Gordon Gano sings lines like “I don’t change the chords anymore/ The chords change themselves.” “One of the greatest thrills of a long recording career is getting Tom Verlaine to play on one of our songs,” Gano explains in a statement. “It’s just amazing to hear that sound.”

The 13-track follow up to 2016’s We Can Do Anything is set to be a focused, powerhouse record that comes packed with punchy, straightforward tunes and a handful of covers like Pyx Lax’s “I’m Not Gonna Cry” and Irving Berlin’s “God Bless America.”

Listen to “Hotel Last Resort” and check out the tracklist for the album below.

Hotel Last Resort Tracklist:

01 – “Another Chorus”
02 – “I Get What I Want”
03 – “I’m Nothing” (featuring Stefan Janoski)
04 – “Adam Was A Man”
05 – “Not OK”
06 – “Hotel Last Resort” (featuring Tom Verlaine)
07 – “Everlasting You”
08 – “It’s All Or Nothing”
09 – “I’m Not Gonna Cry”
10 – “This Free Ride”
11 – “Paris To Sleep”
12 – “Sleepin’ At The Meetin'”
13 – “God Bless America”
Hotel Last Resort is set to drop on July 26th via PIAS.

Most Popular