HomeMusic NewsNew ReleasesListen: We Are KING share cover of 'Space Oddity' from forthcoming David...

Listen: We Are KING share cover of ‘Space Oddity’ from forthcoming David Bowie tribute album

British label BBE Music is set to release a David Bowie tribute album called Modern Love, which is set for release on May 28th. Today, on what would have been Bowie’s 74th birthday, We Are KING has shared a cover of “Space Oddity” from the collection.

The collection, which is it’s set to highlight the influence of Black music and culture on Bowie’s catalogue, was put together by DJ and executive Drew McFadden alongside label founder Peter Adarkwah, and it features Khruangbin covering “Right,” Helado Negro covering “Sound & Vision,” Tortoise’s Jeff Parker covering “Soul Love,” and more.

“There were so many amazing Bowie compositions to choose from but ‘Space Oddity’ has always been our favourite,” We Are KING’s Amber and Paris Strother explain. “It’s so visual; it has always felt like time travel in a song. It tells such a vivid and imaginative story of Major Tom’s trip through space and it as such a cool experience to reimagine what it’d be like on the voyage.”

Listen to We Are KING’s cover of “Space Oddity” below.

“I felt that the connection between Bowie and Black music styles and culture (especially soul, R&B, jazz, funk, and gospel) had never really been explored before – at least not so much in covers, which tend to lean towards rock,” McFadden explains. “Certainly, there’s been plenty of Bowie covers over the years, but none that have really tapped into what seems to have been a big part of his core musical style and direction.”

Check out the tracklist for Modern Love below.

Modern Love Tracklist:

01 – “Life On Mars” by Miguel Atwood-Ferguson
02 – “Sound & Vision” by Helado Negro
03 – “Lady Grinning Soul” by Kit Sebastian
04 – “Soul Love” by Jeff Parker and The New Breed (ft. Ruby Parker)
05 – “Panic in Detroit” by Sessa
06 – “The Man Who Sold the World” by The Hics
07 – “Right” by Khruangbin
08 – “Silly Boy Blue” by Nia Andrews
09 – “Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family” by Foxtrott
10 – “Move On” by L’Rain
11 – “Tonight” by Eddie Chacon & John Carroll Kirby
12 – “Modern Love” by Jonah Mutono
13 – “Where Are We Now” by Bullion
14 – “Fantastic Voyage” by Meshell Ndegeocello
15 – “Heroes” by Matthew Tavares
16 – “Space Oddity” by We Are KING

Most Popular