Listen: Weezer pay homage to metal with new track ‘I Need Some of That’

'Van Weezer' drops on May 7

Weezer are readying their highly anticipated new album, Van Weezer, which drops on May 7th via Crush Music/Atlantic. While gearing up for the release, the alt rock giants have dropped a new single, “I Need Some of That.

The new tune, which follows previously released singles “Hero,” “Beginning of the End,” and “The End of the Game,” serves as a sort of homage to the metal genre, as most of the album is intended to be. The energetic, guitar-driven track sees frontman Rivers Cuomo delivering lines like, “Now I’m plugging in to a Marshall stack/ I can be anything I want.”

Van Weezer will mark Weezer’s fifteenth studio album thus far, serving as the follow-up to the recent OK Human. “The last time this vein of harder rock was mined by Weezer was on their much-loved 2002 album Maladroit,” a press release explains.

Listen to “I Need Some of That” and revisit the tracklist for Van Weezer below.

Van Weezer Tracklist:

01 – “Hero”
02 – “All The Good Ones”
03 – “The End Of The Game”
04 – “I Need Some Of That”
05 – “Beginning Of The End”
06 – “Blue Dream”
07 – “1 More Hit”
08 – “Sheila Can Do It”
09 – “She Needs Me”
10 – “Precious Metal Girl”