Listen: Wilco announce Jeff Tweedy-assisted Daniel Johnston live album, release ‘Worried Shoes’

'Chicago 2017' is set for release on January 31

In 2017, during Daniel Johnston’s farewell tour, Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy and his son Spencer backed up Johnston at his Chicago show at Vic Theatre. Now, Wilco have announced that they’re releasing a full live album of the performance on vinyl.

Chicago 2017, which was recorded by Tom Schick, features material from the Chicago show alongside a session Johnston did at the Wilco Loft. The limited release will be made up of 2,000 black, blue, and white splatter vinyl LPs, and proceeds will benefit the Hi, How Are You Project.

“There is and was only one Daniel and to be able to work with him and help present his music was a huge honour for me and the band, one for which we are all very thankful,” Tweedy explains in a statement.

Listen to “Worried Shoes” and check out the tracklist for Chicago 2017 below.

Chicago 2017 Tracklist:


01 – “The Story Of An Artist”
02 – “Like A Monkey In A Zoo”
03 – “Casper The Friendly Ghost”
04 – “Hey Joe”
05 – “Worried Shoes”
06 – “Cold Hard World”
07 – “Crazy Love”


01 – “Girl Of My Dreams”
02 – “Walking The Cow”
03 – “Funeral Home”
04 – “I’m So Tired”
05 – “Speeding Motorcycle”
06 – “True Love Will Find You In The End” / “Spirit World Rising” / “Funeral Home”

Chicago 2017 is set for release on January 31st via dBpm.