Listen: Wilco drop ‘Love Is Everywhere (Beware),’ announce new album ‘Ode To Joy’

'Ode To Joy' drops on October 4

Wilco have announced that they’ll be releasing their 11th studio album Ode To Joy on October 4th, and as part of the announcement, they’ve dropped “Love is Everywhere (Beware).”

“The record is, in a weird way, an ode,” frontman Jeff Tweedy explains of the forthcoming album in a statement. “This terrible stuff is happening, this deepening sense of creeping authoritarianism that weighs on everybody’s psyche on a daily basis, and you’re allowed to feel a lot of things at once. And one thing that is worth feeling, that is worth fighting for, is your freedom to still have joy, even though things are going to s***.”

The first single, “Love Is Everywhere (Beware),” revolves around a traditional folky acoustic guitar line, before a second electric guitar kicks in with a catchy riff. Tweedy’s silky, dreamy vocal lines take the lead as he sings lines like, “Right now, Right now love is everywhere/ But right now I’m frightened how love is here, beware.”

Listen to “Love Is Everywhere (Beware)” and check out the tracklist for Ode To Joy below.

Ode To Joy Tracklist:

01 – “Bright Leaves”
02 – “Before Us”
03 – “One and Half Stars”
04 – “Quiet Amplifier”
05 – “Everyone Hides”
06 – “White Wooden Cross”
07 – “Citizens”
08 – “We Were Lucky”
09 – “Love is Everywhere (Beware)”
10 – “Hold Me Anyway”
11 – “An Empty Corner”

Lead photo courtesy of Annabel Mehran.