Listen: Wolf Parade shares new track ‘Forest Green,’ announces forthcoming album ‘Thin Mind’

'Thin Mind' is set for release on January 24

Canadian indie rockers Wolf Parade have announced the release of their fifth album Thin Mind, which is set for release on January 24th via Sub Pop. As part of the announcement, they’ve dropped “Forest Green.”

The album is set to revolve around humans’ anxiety about technology, and the ways in which is impacts mental health. “Thin Mind refers to the way that being around too much tech has made our focus thin,” keyboardist Spencer Krug explains in a statement. “It’s opening one more page, scrolling one more thing, and the weird, sort-of hollow automaton feeling that you get from it” guitarist Dan Boeckner adds.

The gritty new indie track revolves around a driven synth line, raucous drums, and deep, crooning vocals. “Forest Green” comes packed with anxiety-ridden lyrics, with lines like, “Farewell to Forest Green/ No more oasis in the Antrhopocene/ Only flat black glass/ Under the waves and gone at, gone at last.”

Listen to “Forest Green” and check out the tracklist for Thin Mind below.

Thin Mind Tracklist:

01 – “Under Glass”
02 – “Julia Take Your Man Home”
03 – “Forest Green”
04 – “Out of Control”
05 – “The Static Age”
06 – “As Kind as You Can”
07 – “Fall Into the Future”
08 – “Wandering Son”
09 – “Against the Day”
10 – “Town Square”