HomeNew ReleasesLive PerformancesLondon Grammar transform Glass Animals' 'Heat Waves' into a downbeat ballad

London Grammar transform Glass Animals’ ‘Heat Waves’ into a downbeat ballad

London Grammar have shared a new live cover of Glass Animals’ “Heat Waves.”

The trio took to a rooftop for a Deezer Live Session, where they transformed the track into something new. London Grammar took the upbeat anthem and turned it into a downbeat ballad. They truly add their own sound to “Heat Waves,” offering up a fresh take on the original hit.

London Grammar have already performed covers of a whole slew of artists including The Weeknd’s “Blinding Lights” and Beyoncé’s “All Night.”

Watch London Grammar’s cover of “Heat Waves” below.

“Heat Waves” was the fourth single that Glass Animals released from their 2020 album, Dreamland. Upon its release, Glass Animals shared a Colin Read-directed video for the track.

“The ‘Heat Waves’ video is a love letter to live music and the culture and togetherness surrounding it,” the band’s Dave Bayley explains. “It was filmed at the peak of the lockdown in my neighbourhood in East London y the lovely people who live around me, just using their phones. These are people who are usually out at shows, in galleries, going to cinemas etc. These venues are left empty now, and many of them will not survive.”

Back in April, London Grammar released their stunning album, California Soil. In celebration, the alt pop trio performed the entire record in full. The band took to Alexandra Palace and livestreamed the show for fans around the world. Revisit that performance here.

“With this record this is the closest we’ve been as friends…well they’re a lot like brothers, actually,” frontwoman Hannah Reid says in an interview.

Revisit the tracklist for “Californian Soil” below.

Californian Soil Tracklist:

01 – “Intro”
02 – “Californian Soil”
03 – “Missing”
04 – “Lose Your Head”
05 – “Lord It’s a Feeling”
06 – “How Does It Feel”
07 – “Baby It’s You”
08 – “Call Your Friends”
09 – “All My Love”
10 – “Talking”
11 – “I Need the Night”
12 – “America”

Most Popular