HomeMusicLump share trippy animated video for new track 'Gamma Ray'

Lump share trippy animated video for new track ‘Gamma Ray’

Laura Marling and Mike Lindsay have shared their new track as LUMP, “Gamma Ray.”

The new tune serves as the final preview of their sophomore album, Animal, out this Friday, July 30th via Partisan/Chrysalis. “Gamma Ray” serves as the follow-up to “We Cannot Resist,” “Climb Every Wall,” and “Animal.” This new tune is far more subdued than the previous releases, with experimental instrumentals.

The accompanying video is perfectly peculiar. It follows the LUMP creature as it makes its way through some dancing mannequins in front of a purple screen. Throughout the clip, the LUMP figure flashes a whole slew of colours.

Watch the video for “Gamma Ray” below.

“The lyrics are all just nonsense writing, but I always had in my mind a story I’d heard about my Dad’s cousin dying,” Marling explains of “Gamma Ray.” “He died very young, he committed suicide sadly, obviously long before I was born. He was incredibly good looking and everyone loved him, and when they tolled the bell at his funeral two of my Dad’s sisters fainted. They were so overcome. ‘Gawping’ comes from French singer Georges Brassens, who did a really weird song called ‘Brave Margot,’ and in the translation there is something about the men ‘gawping.'”

The forthcoming album will definitely be a must-listen. It sees LUMP at their most creative.

“There’s a little bit of a theme of hedonism on the album, of desires running wild,” Lindsay explains. “We created LUMP as a sort of persona and an idea and a creature. Through LUMP we find our inner animal, and through that animal we travel into a parallel universe.”

Check out the tracklist for Animal below.

Animal Tracklist:

01 – “Bloom At Night”
02 – “Gamma Ray”
03 – “Animal”
04 – “Climb Every Wall”
05 – “Red Snakes”
06 – “Paradise”
07 – “Hair on the Pillow”
08 – “We Cannot Resist”
09 – “Oberon”
10 – “Phantom Limb”

Pre-order Animal here.

Most Popular