HomeMusicMitski sees herself as a puppet in surreal video for new single...

Mitski sees herself as a puppet in surreal video for new single ‘Love Me More’

Mitski has shared a surreal video for her danceable new single, “Love Me More.”

The track comes from her forthcoming album, Laurel Hell, out February 4th via Dead Oceans. Today’s release follows previous singles, “Working For The Knife,” “The Only Heartbreaker,” and “Heat Lightning.” Mitski seems to be channeling a more upbeat sound on the forthcoming album, and “Love Me More” is no different. While Mitski’s throaty, ballad-like vocals take the lead, they’re layered atop pulsing synths and a dance-worthy beat.

“As ‘Love Me More’ was written pre-pandemic, lyrics like ‘If I keep myself at home’ had different meanings than what they would now, but I kept them on the album because I found that some of the sentiments not only remained the same, but were accentuated by the lockdown,” Mitski explains.

Watch the video for “Love Me More” below.

Laurel Hell will be Mitski’s sixth studio album. The record is set to be “more uptempo and dance-y.” “I needed to create something that was also a pep talk… Like, it’s time, we’re going to dance through this.”

“‘Love Me More’ went through the most iterations out of all the songs on the album,” Mitski adds. “It’s been too fast, too slow, and at some point, it was even an old style country song. Finally, I think because we had watched The Exorcist, we thought of Mike Oldfield’s ‘Tubular Bells’ and experimented with floating an ostinato over the chorus. As we steadily evolved the ostinato to fit over the chord progressions, we began to hear how the track was meant to sound.”

Check out the tracklist for Laurel Hell below.

Laurel Hell Tracklist:

01 – “Valentine, Texas”
02 – “Working For The Knife”
03 – “Stay Soft”
04 – “Everyone”
05 – “Heat Lightning”
06 – “The Only Heartbreaker”
07 – “Love Me More”
08 – “There’s Nothing Left For You”
09 – “Should’ve Been Me”
10 – “I Guess”
11 – “That’s Our Lamp”

Most Popular