HomeMusicMoses Sumney shares new single 'Bystanders (in space),' announces live album and...

Moses Sumney shares new single ‘Bystanders (in space),’ announces live album and performance film

Moses Sumney has announced a new live album called Live from Blackalachia. The album will be released alongside a performance film, out on December 10th via Sumney’s label TUNTUM.

To preview the record, he’s shared the album’s lead single, “Bystanders (in space),” alongside a one-shot performance video. “Bystanders (in space)” is a stunnig ballad, with futuristic synth pulses and dreamy falsettos. The accompanying video sees Sumney performing on a rotating platform in front of a black background.

“In early 2020, my band and I gathered in my home in Western North Carolina, living and breathing together, re-arranging songs from my first two albums into a live odyssey,” Moses Sumney explains. “As the year unfurled and the international tour was wiped off the cosmic schedule, I realized there should be some kind of record, a copper snapshot of those musical arrangements and the turmoil and beauty of that year. So we took to the Appalachian mountains and filmed and recorded Live From Blackalachia.”

Watch the video for “Bystanders (in space)” and check out the trailer for Live From Blackalachia below.

“The band congregated in the heat of a lulled summer, with a mere 10 days to learn and relearn the music. Drums, keys, guitars, double bass, violin, saxophones, trombone,” Moses Sumney continues. “Bees, birds, squirrels, crickets, frogs. Over the course of two days, we filmed 14 songs, totally live, the trees as our audience, the grasshoppers our background singers. Live from Blackalachia is a wild imagining of what can happen when we seek not just to reclaim nature, but to re-integrate with it.”

Live from Blackalachia follows Moses Sumney’s 2020 double album, græ. Check out the tracklist for the album below.

Live from Blackalachia Tracklist:

01 – “insula”
02 – “Virile”
03 – “Conveyor”
04 – “Quarrel”
05 – “In Bloom (in the woods)”
06 – “space nation race place”
07 – “Colouour”
08 – “Plastic”
09 – “Bless Me”
10 – “Cut Me”
11 – “Bystanders (in space)”
12 – “Me in 20 Years”
13 – “Doomed”
14 – “Polly”

[Read More] Watch: Moses Sumney delivers stunning performance of ‘Bless Me’ at 2020 Soul Train Awards

Most Popular