Most Anticipated Summer Album Releases

There's a lot to look forward to

As if the gift of summer could be any more giving, this summer’s release schedule happens to be chock-full of exciting albums. So take a break from your stale iTunes library, and get ready to check out the material on the way for this summer.


Big Thief – Capacity

Release: June 9th

If you missed out on their gorgeous, self-reflexive debut album Masterpiece from last year, it’s not too late to get into Big Thief.

Phoenix – Ti Amo

Release: June 9th

It’s been four long years since Phoenix released their previous album Bankrupt!, following 2009’s critically acclaimed Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix, and now the French disco-rock group are back with a new album, Ti Amo coming June 9th.

Lorde – Melodrama

Release: June 16th

The hotly anticipated follow-up to Lorde’s critically acclaimed debut Pure Heroine is set for release this summer. We’ve already been given Lorde’s summer anthem “Green Light” a couple months back, and she’s been teasing new music ever since. Melodrama is set for release June 16th.

Fleet Foxes – Crack-Up

Release: June 16th

If you miss the indie-folk uprising of 2009, luckily for you Fleet Foxes have emerged from hibernation with a new album coming this summer. Crack-Up, is the band’s third album, following 2011’s Helplessness Blues.

Portugal. The Man – Woodstock

Release: June 16th

Between 2006 and 2013, Alaskan indie-vets Portugal. The Man released eight albums, stopping after 2013’s Evil Friends to work on their ninth record. The band spent years writing, coming up short-handed with a collection of songs they weren’t super happy with. It wasn’t until singer John Gourley received some much-needed words of wisdom as well as old Woodstock ’69 ticket from his dad to light the fire to go back to the drawing board with fresh ideas.

Radiohead – OKNOTOK

Release: June 23rd

OKNOTOK isn’t technically a new Radiohead album, rather a reissue album from the OK Computer era. The new collection will include eight B-sides plus three reworked tracks that were “rescued from defunct formats, prised from dark cupboards and brought to light after two decades in cold storage.”

Beach House – B-Sides and Rarities

Release: June 30th

Similar to Radiohead, Beach House plan to share their B-Sides and Rarities album this summer. The album will contain songs that didn’t make it past the cutting room floor from their six album history. “Our B-sides are not songs that we didn’t like as much, just ones that didn’t have a place on the records we were making,” the band said in a statement.

Broken Social Scene – Hug of Thunder

Release: July 7th

Toronto’s house band have returned! All original members signed up for duties on their forthcoming record Hug of Thunder, seven years after 2010’s Forgiveness Rock Record.

HAIM – Something To Tell You

Release: July 7th

Few artists’ careers skyrocket off their debut album to the level of success that have met HAIM following Days Are Gone. The sister rock group are ready to release their second album Something To Tell You this coming July.

Whitehorse – Panther In The Dollhouse

Release: July 7th

Juno Award-winning husband and wife duo Whitehorse are set to release another great Canadian blues-rock record this July, Panther In The Dollhouse.


Release: July 14th

Electronic artist RAC has had a streak of enlisting top-notch collaborators Tokyo Police Club, Alex Ebert (Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros), and most recently Rostam. Prepare for more great collabs on EGO, coming out July 14th.

The Dears – Times Infinity Volume Two

Release: July 14th

Montreal’s baroque-indie-pop troupe The Dears are set to share their second installment of Times Infinity Volume Two on July 14th on Paper Bag Records.

Lana Del Rey – Lust For Life

Release: July 21st

Summertime sadness queen, Lana Del Rey recently confirmed via Twitter her much awaited Lust for Life would be hitting shelves this July. She’s since shared her glowing new single “Love”, take a listen above.

Arcade Fire – Everything Now

Release: July 28th

What would be a most-anticipated list without Arcade Fire? The Montreal band just announced their new album Everything Now would be coming out this summer, sharing with it their first new song in over two years.

Mappe Of – A Northern Star, A Perfect Stone

Release:July 28th

At this time, we know very little about Mappe Of, other than what we’ve heard in the hauntingly beautiful and atmospheric sounds laid down in the upcoming album’s opening two tracks. Take a listen and make your own judgement before the mysterious artist releases A Northern Star, A Perfect Stone this July.

LCD Soundsystem – TBD

Release: Expected Late July

Other than the two new songs LCD Soundsystem debuted earlier this year, we don’t know much about the seminal indie band’s upcoming album — only that it is done. In a statement made in May, James Murphy said that it will be out “6 weeks is the very fastest”.

Grizzly Bear – Painted Ruins

Release: August 18th

Initially, Grizzly Bear’s Ed Droste said a new Grizzly Bear album wouldn’t come out for quite some time when the band shared “Three Rings” back in May. But it seems things have turned around, the band announcing Painted Ruins would in fact be out in August.

The War on Drugs – A Deeper Understanding

Release: August 25th

The War on Drugs put out arguably the best album of 2014, Lost in a Dream, and from what we’ve heard from the past two singles released from this band are on their way to do it again. A Deep Understanding is set for release August 25th, so don’t miss it.

The National – Sleep Well Beast

Release: September 8th

The end of summer can be a bittersweet time, but know that there’s something to look forward to at the other end of the season. The National have announced their eight studio album Sleep Well Beast will be released September 8th.