Most Anticipated Winter Album Releases

Cozy up to these albums this winter

Don’t shoot the messenger, but winter is around the corner and you know what that means, the cold. But here’s the good news: there’s plenty of new music coming down the pipeline that will keep you warm in these dark, bleak months.

So get out your calendar and mark down these dates. Here’s our most anticipated album releases this winter:

Morrissey – Low in High School

Release: November 17

Morrissey’s eleventh studio album comes three years after his last release, World Peace is None of Your Business. The latest single from the album, “Jacky’s Only Happy When She’s Up on the Stage”, was released early November. Morrissey’s been touring throughout the United States, continuing dates into December following the album release.

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard – Polygondwanaland

Release: November 17

Just a couple of weeks ago, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard released a new single titled “Crumbling Castle.” Now, their fourth studio album, Polygondwanaland is being released, completely free of charge. “Free as in, free” says the band, “free to download and if you wish, free to make copies. Make tapes, make CD’s, make records.”

Björk – Utopia

Release: November 24

Björk’s latest album comes as a follow-up to her 2015 record, Vulnicura. What we know about this new album is that the sound will be very different than the last, featuring upbeat songs that have love coursing through their veins.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Who Built The Moon?

Release: November 24

The former Oasis guitarist has been working with composer and producer, David Holmes to create an album that’s going to surprise fans with new, bold music. Noah will be going on tour in the new year to accompany the album’s release.

Jim James – Tribute To 2

Release: December 8th

This album comes as a follow-up to the 2009 covers EP, Tribute To. Jim James released a cover of the Beach Boys’ “I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times”. This song serves as the albums opener, followed by covers of classic songs by Sonny & Cher, Willie Nelson, and Bob Dylan.

Bahamas – Earthtones

Release: January 19th

Toronto based singer/songwriter, Afie Jurvanen, better known as Bahamas, is releasing his new album in the new year, four years after his last release, Bahamas is Afie. The new record was mostly recorded in a three-day session, and features the recently released single “No Wrong.”

First Aid Kit – Ruins

Release: January 19th

After releasing two new singles, “It’s A Shame” and “Postcard”, Swedish duo, First Aid Kit, announced their newest LP, Ruins. The record features REM’s Peter Buck, and Wilco’s Glenn Kotche. The sisters will also be touring throughout the winter to promote the album.


tUnE-yArDs – I can feel you creep into my private life

Release: January 19th

I can feel you creep into my private life is the fourth studio album from tUnE-yArDs, and serves as a follow-up to their 2014 record, Nikki Nack. Their latest track, “Look At Your Hands”, is a teaser to the album, and is loaded with 80s synth and bass.

Calexico – The Thread That Keeps Us

Release: January 26th

The ninth studio album from rock band, Calexico, is being released via ANTI records. Co-founder of the band, Joey Burns, says the album is more chaotic than what they’ve done in the past, and told ANTI the chaos has a lot to do with “where we’re at as a planet.”

Dashboard Confessional – Crooked Shadows

Release: February 9th

Emo-rock legends, Dashboard Confessional, are coming out with their first album since 2009. Crooked Shadows features their latest single, “We Fight”, which is a heartfelt rock tune in a time where the world needs heartfelt rock music more than ever. In a statement, Chris Carraba said, “It’s a song for people who, in spite of their differences, can find common ground in their convictions and foster those into something bigger than themselves.”

Franz Ferdinand – Always Ascending

Release: February 9th

Always Ascending will be the band’s first studio LP with their new lineup. The record was produced by Phillipe Zdar, who’s worked with the likes of Phoenix, and the Beastie Boys. Franz Ferdinand also released the titled track to the album in October.

Belle & Sebastian – How To Solve Our Human Problems

Release: February 16th

Follow-up to their 2015 album, Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance, Belle and Sebastian are releasing a three part EP, How to Solve Our Human Problems. EP 1 will be released December 8th, EP 2 on January 19th, and finally, EP 3 on February 16th.

Born Ruffians – Uncle, Duke & The Chief

Release: February 16th

TUncle, Duke & The Chiefis is the next album from Born Ruffians, featuring tracks, “Love Too Soon” and “Forget Me”, which are part of a two-part video series directed by July Talk’s leah Fay Goldstein and Peter Dreimanis. The album follows their 2015 release, Ruff and will be released on Paper Bag Records.

Arctic Monkeys – TBD

All we know is that Arctic Monkeys have begun the recording process for the sixth album. The band is eyeing a 2018 release.


Bastille – TBD

Bastille recently revealed that they had wrapped writing their third record, the a follow-up to their massively successful 2016 release Wild World. The band just put out a song for the upcoming Netflix show Bright, which might be a good sign for a full album to come.



BØRNS whet our appetite for new music with the release of “Faded Heart” this past summer, and the California-based artist has indicated that an early-2018 release for his sophomore effort is in the works.


Chromeo – Head Over Heels

A follow-up to 2014’s White Women is on the way for 2018. Chromeo announced their forthcoming record Head Over Heels earlier this month with a hilarious teaser trailer.


Charlotte Day Wilson – TBD

Toronto-based singer-songwriter Charlotte Day Wilson recently shared a new single, “Doubt,” with the promise of more new music on the way for 2018. “Doubt” is Wilson’s first studio release since her critically-acclaimed 2016 debut EP CDW.


Dear Rouge – TBD

Husband and wife duo Danielle and Drew McTaggart unveiled “Boys & Blondes” in October, their first new song since 2015’s Back to Gold, so keep your eyes peeled for more info on a new record.


Interpol – TBD

Interpol have indicated that a new record is on the way for 2018 via Matador Records, and they’ve shared studio photos to prove it. There’s still no firm release date, but the band aired some new material while touring for the 15th anniversary of Turn On The Bright Lights this past summer.


Jack White – TBD

Here’s what we know about Jack White’s forthcoming third solo album: It’s “practically done” and it’s a “bizarre one.” We’ll take it. Release day can’t come soon enough, whenever that is.

Kanye West – Turbo Grafx 16

It’s important to remember that Kanye West answers to no one, so there’s no real indication of when his forthcoming Turbo Grafx 16 will drop, but we should be ready for a surprise release. West has been touting the record since early 2017.