HomeMusicMUNA share new breakup anthem 'Home By Now'

MUNA share new breakup anthem ‘Home By Now’

MUNA are back with a new single, “Home By Now.”

The track comes from the indie pop trio’s forthcoming self-titled album, out June 24th via Saddest Factory. While MUNA have shared a few previews of the album already, “Home By Now” feels more reminiscent of their previous albums. With pulsing synths and melancholic vocals, frontwoman Katie Gavin sings of longing post-breakup.

“‘Home By Now’ is the song on the record that we feel might be closest to our first album in that it’s a dance song with brutal lyrics and an emo bridge,” Gavin explains. “While a lot of this album does seem to be about trusting my instincts, this song acknowledges the pain of not knowing if I left a relationship that I was meant to be in.”

Listen to “Home By Now” below.

The forthcoming album is set to see trio Katie Gavin, Naomi McPherson, and Josette Maskin moving toward a lighter sound.

“What ultimately keeps us together is knowing that someone’s going to hear each one of these songs and use it to make a change they need in their life,” Maskin explains. “That people are going to feel a kind of catharsis, even it its’ a catharsis that I might never have known myself, because I’m fucked up.”

“I hope this album helps people connect to each other the way that we, in MUNA, have learned to connect to each other,” McPherson says.

In addition to “Home By Now,” MUNA features the previously released “Kind of Girl,” “Anything But Me,” and “Silk Chiffon.”

Check out the album’s tracklist below.

MUNA Tracklist:

01 – “Silk Chiffon (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)”
02 – “What I Want”
03 – “Runner’s High”
04 – “Home By Now”
05 – “Kind of Girl”
06 – “Handle Me”
07 – “No idea”
08 – “Solid”
09 – “Anything But Me”
10 – “Loose Garment”
12 – “Shooting Star”

Most Popular