HomeMusicMuse share video for new single 'Compliance' announce forthcoming album 'Will Of...

Muse share video for new single ‘Compliance’ announce forthcoming album ‘Will Of The People’

Muse have shared a video for their new single, “Compliance.” The track comes in celebration of the announcement of their new album, Will Of The People, out August 26th.

It’s an addictive new alt-pop anthem, accompanied by a Jeremi Durand-directed video.

“‘Compliance’ is about submission to authoritarian rules and reassuring untruths to be accepted to an in-group,” frontman Matt Bellamny explains. “Gangs, governments, demagogues, social media algorithms &. religions seduce us during times of vulnerability, creating arbitrary rules and distorted ideas for us to comply with. They sell us comforting myths, telling us only they can explain reality while simultaneously diminishing our freedom, autonomy and independent thought. We are not just coerced, we are herded, frightened, and corralled to produce a daily ‘2 minutes of hate’ against an out-group of their choosing and to turn a blind eye to our own internal voice of reason & compassion. They just need our Compliance.”

Watch the video for “Compliance” below.

Will Of The People was created in Los Angeles and London and is influenced by the increasing uncertainty and instability in the world,” Bellamy adds. “A pandemic, new wars in Europe, massive protests & riots, an attempted insurrection, Western democracy wavering, rising authoritarianism, wildfires and natural disasters and the destabilization of the global order all informed Will Of The People. It has been a worrying and scary time for all of us as the Western empire and the natural world, which have cradled us for so long are genuinely threatened. This album is a personal navigation through those fears and preparation for what comes next.”

In addition to “Compliance,” Will Of The People features the previously released “Won’t Stand Down.”

Check out the tracklist for Will Of The People below or pre-order it here.

Will of the People Tracklist:

01 – “Will Of The People”
02 – “Compliance”
03 – “Liberation”
04 – “Won’t Stand Down”
05 – “Ghosts (How Can I Move On)”
06 – “You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween”
07 – “Kill Or Be Killed”
08 – “Verona”
09 – “Euphoria”
10 – “We Are Fucking Fucked”

[Read More] Muse’s Matt Bellamy covers Simon & Garfunkel’s ‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’

Most Popular