HomeMusicNathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats collaborate with Jenny Lewis, Lucius' Jess...

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats collaborate with Jenny Lewis, Lucius’ Jess Wolfe on new single ‘What If I’

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats have collaborated with Jenny Lewis and Lucius’ Jess Wolfe on a new single, “What If I.”

“What If I” comes from their forthcoming album, The Future, out November 5th via Stax Records. Jenny Lewis and Wolfe offer up some pretty stunning harmonies on the track.

The song revolves around a driven drum line and a catchy guitar riff. Throughout the tune, Rateliff’s throaty vocals take the lead. On the chorus, Rateliff wails lines like, “Maybe I’m all in and doubt it/ Maybe the nights are sharp and cold/ Maybe it’s harder to see when you cannot believe/ When only half the cards are shown.”

Listen to “What If I” below.

“What If I” follows the vivacious rock anthem, “Survivor.” Both of which appear on The Future.

The Future was recorded in frontman Nathaniel Rateliff’s Colorado studio where they wanted to shed light on diverse observations and reflect on the current times. In a press statement Rateliff revealed:

“I look at the album overall as a big question. When I was writing the record we were in the middle of a pandemic and our future looked pretty bleak. I just continue to try to write from a place of hope. Then my own neurosis, and maybe being a libra gets in the way, and I can’t make up my mind. There is this constant back and forth battle in me personally and I am sure that comes out in my writing.”

Check out the tracklist for The Future below.

The Future tracklist:

01 – “The Future”
02 – “Survivor”
03 – “Face Down In The Moment”
04 – “Something Ain’t Right”
05 – “Love Me Till I’m Gone”
06 – “Baby I Got Your Number”
07 – “What If I”
08 – “I’m On Your SIde”
09 – “So Put Out”
10 – “Oh, I”
11 – “Love Don’t”

[Read More] Nathaniel Rateliff releases new live album ‘Red Rocks 2020,’ shares performance video for ‘And It’s Still Alright’
Watch: Nathaniel Rateliff performs four tracks for NPR Tiny Desk (Home) concert
Jenny Lewis pays tribute to the simple pleasures on new single ‘Puppy and a Truck’

Most Popular