HomeMusicNick Cave & the Bad Seeds share previously unreleased 'song that just...

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds share previously unreleased ‘song that just got away’ ‘Earthlings’

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds have shared a previously unreleased track, “Earthlings.”

The single comes from their forthcoming B-Sides & Rarities Part II, which is out on October 22nd. Following the release of “Vortex,” “Earthlings” is a melancholic synth-based track. Equal parts sadness and celebration, “Earthlings” truly channels the sounds of the Ghosteen sessions. Lyrically, Cave sings lines like, “I thought that love would one day set me free/ I think my friends have gathered here for me.”

“‘Earthlings’ is the missing link that binds Ghosteen together,” Cave explains. “A lovely song that just got away…”

Listen to “Earthlings” below.

B-Sides & Rarities Part II collects material from the second half of their career, following 2005’s B-Sides & Rarities Part I. Part II features a whopping 27 rare or unreleased tracks from 2006 – 2020. It features first recordings of “Skeleton Tree,” “Bright Horses,” and “Girl In Amber.” Of course, “Vortex” and “Earthlings” are also standouts on the collection. It will be released on double vinyl, double CD, deluxe double DC, and digital platforms starting on October 22nd.

B-Sides & Rarities Part II continues this strange and beautiful collection of lost songs from the Bad Seeds,” Cave says. “I love the final side of the last disc because it reveals the small and fragile beginnings of some of my favourite Bad Seeds songs. ‘Waiting For You’ complete with bizarre ‘canning factory’ rhythm track, a gorgeous ‘Life Per Se’ deemed too sad for Skeleton Tree, and ‘Earthlings’ that some consider the finest track of the Ghosteen sessions.”

B-Sides & Rarities Part II will also be paired with Part I for a limited edition deluxe vinyl box set. You can pre-order that here. Check out the tracklist for Part II below.

B-Sides & Rarities Part II Tracklist:

01 – “Hey Little Firing Squad”
02 – “Fleeting Love”
03 – “Accidents Will Happen”
04 – “Free To Walk (With Debbie Harry)”
05 – “Avalanche”*
06 – “Vortex”*
07 – “Needle Boy”
08 – “Lightning Bolts”
09 – “Animal X”
10 – “Give Us a Kiss”
11 – “Push The Sky Away (Live with The Melbourne Symphony Orchestra)*
12 – “First Skeleton Tree*
13 – “King Sized Nick Cave Blues”*
14 – “Opium Eyes”*
15 – “Big Dream (With Sky)”
16 – “Instrumental #33″*
17 – “Hell Villanelle”*
18 – “Euthanasia”*
19 – “Life Per Se”*
20 – “Steve McQueen”*
21 – “First Bright Horses”*
22 – “First Girl in Amber”*
23 – “Glacier”*
24 – “Heart That Kills You”*
25 – “First Waiting for You”*
26 – “Sudden Song”*
27 – “Earthlings”

* = Unreleased Track

[Read More] Stream: Nick Cave, Warren Ellis surprise-release new record ‘CARNAGE’
Nick Cave, Warren Ellis share heartfelt, atmospheric song ‘Les Cerfs’

Lead photo courtesy of the artist.

Most Popular