HomeMusicNick Cave, Warren Ellis share heartfelt, atmospheric song 'Les Cerfs'

Nick Cave, Warren Ellis share heartfelt, atmospheric song ‘Les Cerfs’

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis have collaborated on another new piece called “Les Cerfs.”

The song comes from their soundtrack for the forthcoming film, La Panthère Des Neiges. The whole score is out digitally on December 17th via Invada, but Cave and Ellis have previewed it with “Les Cerfs” and the previously released “We Are Not Alone.”

Today’s release is a heartfelt, atmospheric composition. “Les Cerfs,” which means deer in English, features swelling strings and twinkling synths. Cave’s deep baritone truly adds some new dimension to the track.

Listen to “Les Cerfs” below.

La Panthère Des Neiges is a French nature documentary, which is out on December 22nd. Marie Amiguet and Vincent Munier directed La Panthère Des Neiges. In the film, the pair hunt for the endangered snow leopard in Tibet. “Les Cerfs” truly sets the tone for the majestic movie.

“There is something about the heart of this film that draws you in,” Ellis explains. “I realized after a day, that I wanted to do whatever it took to compose an entire original score. The film deserved to have its own musical voice. I booked five days and asked Nick if he could come in for a day to write a theme song and play some piano. He saw the film and stayed for four days.”

Watch the trailer for La Panthère Des Neiges and check out the tracklist for the soundtrack below.

La Panthère Des Neiges Tracklist:

01 – “L’attaque de Loups”
02 – “Les Cerfs”
03 – “Antilope”
04 – “La Bête”
05 – “Les Yaks”
06 – “Les Affûts Elliptiques”
07 – “Les Nomades”
08 – “La Grotte”
09 – “Les Princes”
10 – “La Neige Tombe”
11 – “Les Ours”
12 – “Un Être Vous Obsède”
13 – “L’apparition: We Are Not Alone”

[Read More] Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds release live rendition of ‘Push The Sky Away’ with Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Montreal’s Tess Roby shares cinematic video for sparse new single ‘Path’

Most Popular