HomeNew ReleasesAlbum StreamsNirvana, Soundgarden, Pearl Jam members form supergroup 3rd Secret, release surprise album

Nirvana, Soundgarden, Pearl Jam members form supergroup 3rd Secret, release surprise album

Nirvana’s Krist Novoselic, Pearl Jam and Soundgarden’s Matt Cameron, and Soundgarden’s Kim Thayil have teamed up to form a new supergroup, 3rd Secret. In fact, they’ve even dropped a surprise debut self-titled album.

Alongside Novoselic, Cameron, and Thayil, 3rd Secret features Void’s Bubba Dupree, Giants in the Trees’ Jillian Raye, and Jennifer Johnson. According to the credits, Novoselic and Cameron are some of the primary songwriters on the record, which was co-produced and mixed by Jack Endino. Endino previously worked on Nirvana’s Bleach.

Ultimately, the record is a pretty perfect blend of indie, alt-rock, and folk. With some classic grunge flares, it sees Raye and Johnson’s vocals at the forefront. The new album marks the first record that Cameron and Thayil have created together since the death of Soundgarden frontman Chris Cornell in 2017.

Stream 3rd Secret and check out the tracklist below.


3rd Secret Tracklist:

01 – “Rhythm of the Ride”
02 – “I Choose Me”
03 – “Last Day of August”
04 – “Winter Solstice”
05 – “Lies Fade Away”
06 – “Live Without You”
07 – “Right Stuff”
08 – “Dead Sea”
09 – “Diamond in the Cold”
10 – “Somewhere in Time”
11 – “The Yellow Dress”

Although 3rd Secret comes as a surprise, Novoselic did tease a new album in a since-deleted tweet back in February. In the tweet he revealed that he was “really busy trying to finish a record” and “in the middle of some hangups.” Other than that, he offered up no details.

[Read More] Watch: James Blake covers Nirvana’s ‘Come As You Are’
Watch: Soundgarden member Kim Thayil claims new album featuring late frontman Chris Cornell is ‘entirely possible’

Most Popular