HomeMusicPanda Bear, Sonic Boom share video for new single 'Danger'

Panda Bear, Sonic Boom share video for new single ‘Danger’

Panda Bear (Noah Lennox) and Sonic Boom (Peter Kember) are back with a video for another new collaborative single, “Danger.”

The track comes from their forthcoming album, Reset, out August 12th digitally and November 18th on CD and vinyl. Much like the rest of the record, you can really hear Panda Bear and Sonic Boom’s exploration of American doo-wop and rock-and-roll from the ’50s and ’60s on “Danger.” The track features a sample of the Everly Brothers, but with their quintessential electronic sound, the duo make it their own.

Directed by Fernanda Pereira, the accompanying video follows a ballerina dancing beneath technicolour lights. It’s a trippy, yet moving clip that fits the dreamy tune perfectly.

Watch the video for “Danger” below.

While Sonic Boom and Panda Bear have worked together on their solo pursuits, this forthcoming album serves as their first joint release. Sonic Boom and Panda Bear started working on Reset shortly after international lockdowns were implemented. So the album served as an opportunity for connection while isolating.

The forthcoming album is “40 minutes of strange light, fluorescing out form a particularly dark time,” a press release explains. “That is perhaps the album’s primary promise—to reckon with the not-infrequent hardships of reality and offer some way to some other side. If making Reset supplied temporary medicine for Panda Bear and Sonic Boom, it is now permanently so for the rest of us, a reminder that sometimes playing and singing along to old favorites with friends can be enough to make the world feel a bit better.”

In addition to “Danger,” Reset features the previously released “Go On” and “Edge of the Edge.”

Check out the tracklist for Reset below.

Reset Tracklist:

01 – “Gettin’ to the Point”
02 – “Go On”
03 – “Everyday”
04 – “Edge of the Edge”
05 – “In My Body”
06 – “Whirlpool”
07 – “Danger”
08 – “Livin’ in the After”
09 – “Everything’s Been Leading to This”

A $1 contribution from each CD and LP sold goes toward Earthisland.org, which is a non-profit that aims to conserve, preserve, and restore the environment. There’s also a limited edition 500-LP run of translucent pink LP exclusively available on Bandcamp. $10 from each copy of the LP goes toward MAPS, a non-profict organization that aims to develop psychedelic therapies into medical treatments for mental health.

Most Popular