HomeMusicParquet Courts rip through scorching new single in video for 'Homo Sapien'

Parquet Courts rip through scorching new single in video for ‘Homo Sapien’

Parquet Courts are back with a video for their new single, “Homo Sapien.”

The track comes from their forthcoming album, Sympathy For Life, out this Friday via Rough Trade Records. “Homo Sapien” follows previously released singles “Black Widow Spider,” “Walking at a Downtown Pace,” and “Plant Life.”

The scorching new single is a guitar-heavy anthem. A Savage’s vocals take the lead on this tune, delivering lines like, “The erotic quality of not feeling meaningless/ Reflecting a loving gaze.” Alongside the track, Parquet Courts have released a Marisa Gesualdi-directed video. In the clip, they perform along to the tune in front of red curtains.

Watch the video for “Homo Sapien” below.

Parquet Courts are exploring a new genre of thought-provoking rock on their upcoming album. While staying true to their unique sound, the band will be at their most instinctive on the follow-up to 2018’s Wide Awake.

Wide Awake! was a record you could put on at a party,” co-frontman Austin Brown explains. “Sympathy For Live is influenced by the party itself. Historically, some amazing rock records have been made from mingling in dance music culture – from Talking Heads to Screamadelica. Our goal was to bring that into our own music. Each of us, in our personal lives, has been going to more dance parties. Or rather, we were pre-pandemic, which is when this record was made.”

Check out the tracklist for Sympathy For Life below.

Sympathy For Life Tracklist:

01 – “Walking At A Downtown Pace”
02 – “Black Widow Spider”
03 – “Marathon of Anger”
04 – “Just Shadows”
05 – “Plant Life”
06 – “Application Apparatus”
07 – “Homo Sapien”
08 – “Sympathy For Life”
09 – “Zoom Out”
10 – “Trullo”
11 – “Pulcinella”

Parquet Courts are set to celebrate the release of Sympathy For Life with a show at Music Hall of Williamsburg. They’ll also present a NoonChorus livestream event called Feel Free: Sympathy for Life, Visualized tomorrow. The event will be streaming for one night only, and it sees the band collaborating with 11 visual artists. Purchase tickets to the event here.

[Read More] Parquet Courts share video for ‘Marathon of Anger,’ announce ‘Sympathy For Life, Visualized’ YouTube premiere

Most Popular