HomeMusicMusic NewsPavement's Stephen Malkmus and Spiral Stairs have both announced forthcoming solo albums

Pavement’s Stephen Malkmus and Spiral Stairs have both announced forthcoming solo albums

There doesn’t look like there’s going to be a Pavement reunion anytime soon, but it appears two members of the band will be releasing solo albums this year. On the same day, Pavement’s Stephen Malkmus and Spiral Stairs have announced that they’ll each be releasing a solo record.

Malkmus has unveiled that he’ll be releasing his highly-anticipated electronic album, Groove Denied, which was “rejected” by his label, according to a press release (which was sent by his label). “Groove Denied is not a full-blown plunge into EDM or hiptronica,” the statement reads. “Every song is precisely that: a song, featuring Malkmus staples like an artfully askew melody and an oblique lyric.”

Groove Denied is set for release on March 15th, and you can preview the album with a new video for Malkmus’ “Viktor Borgia” below.

Spiral Stairs forthcoming solo album is called We Wanna Be Hyp-No-Tized, and it marks Scott Kannberg’s first Spiral Stairs release since 2017’s Doris and the Daggers. “In my early twenties I felt like I knew everything – I always knew about new bands before everyone else,” Kannberg explained of the album in a statement. “But that kind of closed off a lot of bands that I didn’t give much credence to, and now I’m a bit older and it’s like, ‘Wow, how did I miss that?'”

Preview the upcoming record, which is set for release on March 22nd, with the first single, “Hyp-No-Tized,” below.

You can also check out the tracklists for both records below.
Malkmus’ Groove Denied Tracklist:

01 – “Belziger Faceplant”
02 – “A Bit Wilder”
03 – “Viktor Borgia”
04 – “Come Get Me”
05 – “Forget Your Place”
06 – “Rushing the Acid Frat”
07 – “Love the Door”
08 – “Boss Viscerate”
09 – “Ocean of Revenge”
10 – “Grown Nothing”
Spiral Stairs’ We Wanna Be Hyp-No-Tized Tracklist:

01 – “Hyp-No-ized”
02 – “The Fool”
03 – “Diario”
04 – “Them Cold Eyes”
05 – “Hold On (Til I Figure It Out)”
06 – “Fingerprintz”
07 – “BTG”
08 – “Dear Husband”
09 – “Swampland”
10 – “Borderline”
Malkmus will be hitting The Great Hall on May 1st, and you can catch Spiral Stairs at the Horseshoe Tavern on March 24th.

Most Popular