HomeMusicFeatures & ListsPolaris 2014 Short List Announcement

Polaris 2014 Short List Announcement

Just minutes ago the 2014 Polaris Music Prize shortlist was announced at The Carlu in downtown Toronto. Hosted by Jay Baruchel, the longlist of 41 Canadian albums was narrowed down to just 10 outstanding records from the past year.

Find the shortlist and press release below:

TORONTO, ON – Tuesday, July 15, 2014.

Today over 150 members of the music industry and media gathered at The Carlu’s Round Room in Toronto for the announcement of the 2014 Polaris Music Prize Short List. The event was also webcast live on TFO’s BRBR. The ten records were selected from the 41-title Long List that was announced last month at the National Music Centre in Calgary.


Arcade Fire – Reflektor
Basia Bulat – Tall Tall Shadow
Mac DeMarco – Salad Days
Drake – Nothing Was The Same
Jessy Lanza – Pull My Hair Back
Owen Pallett – In Conflict
Shad – Flying Colours
Tanya Tagaq – Animism
Timber Timbre – Hot Dreams

Short list nominees Shad and YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN were in attendance at today’s announcement.

Montreal actor, producer, and writer Jay Baruchel was also announced as this year’s gala host and read the names of the ten nominees. “As both a music nerd and a patriot the decision to be a part of thisaward that honours the best in our country’s music was an easy one,” said Baruchel. “I ambeyond flattered and more than a little nervous. Above all else I amhonoured to be hosting the Polaris Music Prize Gala. Here’s to me beingarguably the least hip person in the room come awards night.”Baruchel is known for his roles in This Is The End, Goon, the How To Train Your Dragon series, The Trotsky, Knocked Up, and Tropic Thunder.

For images from today’s event, album graphics, artist pics and bios visit:polarismusicprize.ca/media
username: media / password: m3d1a

The Polaris Gala will be held on Monday, September 22nd at The Carlu. The live webcast of the event will be presented by Aux.tv.

The eligibility period for the 2014 Polaris Music Prize runs from June 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014. An independent jury of nearly 190 music journalists, broadcasters and music bloggers from across Canada determine the Long List and Short List. An eleven person Grand Jury, chosen from the larger jury pool, will convene one the night of the Gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $30,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. The runner’s up from the Short List each receive $2,000 courtesy of Slaight Music. Judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales, past winners of the prize have included Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy (Owen Pallett) (2006).

About the Polaris Music Prize
The Polaris Music Prize is a not-for-profit organization that annually honours, celebrates and rewards creativity and diversity in Canadian recorded music by recognizing, then marketing the albums of the highest artistic integrity, without regard to musical genre, professional affiliation, or sales history, as judged by a panel of selected music critics. www.polarismusicprize.ca/ @polarisprize

Most Popular