HomeMusicMusic NewsArcade Fire, Neil Young Among Polaris Heritage Prize Winners

Arcade Fire, Neil Young Among Polaris Heritage Prize Winners

Following Kaytranada’s win of thee 2016 Polaris Music Prize, the prestigious organization has just announced the winners of the 2016 Heritage Prize.

The Heritage prize honours artists for their contributions during a specific eras: 1960-75, 1976-85, 1986-95 and 1996-05. The vote is split into two categories for each era, one decided by popular vote and one by juror. Take a look at this year’s winners:

Public Vote: Neil Young
After The Gold Rush (1970)

Jury Vote:Leonard Cohen
Songs Of Leonard Cohen (1967)

Public Vote: Rush
Moving Pictures (1981)

Jury Vote: Kate & Anna McGarrigle
Kate & Anna McGarrigle (1976)

Public Vote: Blue Rodeo
5 Days In July (1993)

Jury Vote: Mary Margaret O’Hara
Miss America (1988)


Public Vote: Arcade Fire
Funeral (2004)

Jury Vote: Lhasa de Sela
La Llorona (1997)

See our full 2016 Polaris Prize Gala wrap-up and gallery here.

Image: Nick Tiringer

Most Popular