HomeMusicMusic NewsPolaris Music Prize Announces Gala Performers and Grand Jury

Polaris Music Prize Announces Gala Performers and Grand Jury

The prestigious Canadian music award Polaris Prize has just announced their gala performers and the grand jury, who will decide who takes home the big prize this year.

This year marks the 10th anniversary for the Canadian Award ceremony, which will take place at the gorgeous Carlu on Monday September 21st. Alvvays, Braids, Jennifer Castle, Tobias Jesso Jr., Buffy Sainte-Marie and Viet Cong have all been announced as performers at the event.

Hosted by childhood hero Fred Penner, the event will also be live streamed on Aux.tv. This years judges include Alicia Atout (A Music Blog, Yea?), Sarah Greene (Exclaim), Ty Harper (City On My Back), Donna Hopper (Village Media), Ken Kelley (Music Nerd Chronicles), Sarah Kitteringham (Beatroute), Barnaby Marshall (New Canadian Music), Dave Morris (freelance), Alan Neal (CBC All In A Day), Renato Pagnani (Edmonton Journal) and Jen Zoratti (Winnipeg Free Press).

This year, The Polaris Music Prize will award $50,000 to the artist who wins the Album of the Year title, and $3000 to all the runner-ups.

For more details check out Polaris Prize’s website.

Most Popular