HomeMusicMusic NewsPolaris Music Prize Announces Their 2016 Gala Performers and Grand Jury

Polaris Music Prize Announces Their 2016 Gala Performers and Grand Jury

Every year the Polaris Music Prize is presented to the top Canadian album based on “artistic merit” and comes with the sweet and savory prize of $50,000.

This year’s Polaris Music Prize will be presented on September 19th at The Carlu in Toronto which will include performances from: Black Mountain, Basia Bulat, Carly Rae Jepsen, Jessy Lanza, Andy Shauf, U.S. Girls and White Lung.

Fellow Canadian-shortlisters Grimes and Kaytranada will also be in attendance. Polaris nominee PUP unfortunately won’t be making it as they will be rocking out in Austria that night.

2016’s Polaris Prize nominees are:

Black Mountain – IV
Basia Bulat – Good Advice
Grimes – Art Angels
Carly Rae Jepsen – E•MO•TION
Kaytranada – 99.9%
Jessy Lanza – Oh No
PUP – The Dream Is Over
Andy Shauf – The Party
U.S. Girls – Half Free
White Lung – Paradise

This is Bulat’s third nomination, joining Caribou, Drake, Metric, Shad and Owen Pallett in reaching that feat.

The prize also announced this year’s Grand Jury. These 11 with convene on the night of the gala to decide the winner: Indie 88’s very own Lana Gay, Adrien Begrand (freelance), Lisa Christiansen (CBC Radio One – Vancouver), Del Cowie (CBC Music), Howard Druckman (SOCAN Words and Music), Carla Gillis (NOW Magazine), Andrew King (Canadian Musician), Lisa Lagace (Turn The Record Over), Trevor Risk (Ion Magazine), Joni Sadler (CKUT) and Fateema Sayani (Ottawa Magazine).

 Limited public tickets are on sale now via Ticketfly.com

Most Popular