Polaris Music Prize Gala: Video Archive

Rewatch the Polaris Music Prize Gala and pre-show

The Polaris Music Prize Gala was held Monday September 23, at the Carlu in downtown Toronto and Indie88 hosted a live stream of the event. Godspeed You! Black Emperor took the prize with their album ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend! in an unexpected turn of events.

This year’s hosts were Kathleen Edwards and Shad, and there was live performances by Short List nominees Zaki Ibrahim, Metric, METZ, Purity Ring, A Tribe Called Red, Whitehorse, and Young Galaxy. This was also the first year that the public was able to attend the event.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $30,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit without consideration of genre or record sales.

The #Polaris2013 Short List:
Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
Metric – Synthetica
Purity Ring – Shrines
Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob
A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation
Whitehorse – The Fate of the World Depends on This Kiss
Young Galaxy – Ultramarine


Watch the mini docs for each Short List nominee on their road to #Polaris2013.