HomeUncategorizedPoor Young Things

Poor Young Things

Poor Young Things play straight up rock and roll. High school friends from Thunder Bay, the five band members moved to Toronto at the end of 2010. Singer/guitarist Matt Fratpietro says “The five of us all agreed to move together, which made it a bit easier though we are all living in the same house now which is… cozy. I mean, we see each other every day.”

Close proximity is working for the band for writing and performing – according to Fratpietro “we just jam and jam and jam until the song is right.” Roommates/bandmates include Michael Kondakow and Dave Grant on guitars, Scott Burke on bass, and Konrad Commisso on drums.

They released their EP “Let It Sleep” in 2012, and just released their debut full length album “The Heart. The Head.The End.” via Bumstead Productions. Toronto producer/engineer Jon Drew (F-ed Up, Tokyo Police Club, Alexisonfire, Matt Mays) worked on both.

Playing over 100 shows in 2012, the Poor Young Things have shared the stage with Joel Plaskett, Tim Chaisson, Hollerado, Yukon Blonde, Matt Mays, and The Trews. They’re currently touring with Gloryhound and will play the Warped Tour in the US.

“(W)e’re a hard-working, 24/7 rock-and-roll band. There are no gimmicks and there are no tricks. We go out there and we play.” – Matt Fratpietro.


Most Popular