HomeMusicPorridge Radio's new song 'The Rip' is all about a shifting power...

Porridge Radio’s new song ‘The Rip’ is all about a shifting power dynamic

Porridge Radio have shared a video for their new single, “The Rip.”

The track comes from their upcoming album, Waterslide, Diving Board, Ladder To The Sky, out May 20th via Secretly Canadian. The gritty alt-rock tune boasts driven percussion, wailing guitar riffs, and anthemic, powerhouse vocals. Directed by frontperson Dana Margolin’s sister Ella, the video follows Dana running on a treadmill in a foggy forest filled with monsters.

“‘The Rip’ was the last song to be finished for the album, and we finished it about a week before we went into the studio to record it in March 2021. We wanted it to sound like massive pop, like Charli XCX, but with the instrumentation of bands like Slothrust or Deftones,” Dana Margolin explains. “It took the longest a song has ever taken me to write lyrics for, and they took form over a few years. At the beginning it was a song about a power dynamic where I was in control, by the end it was about one where I had none.”

Watch the video for “The Rip” below.


More on “The Rip”:

“My friends always accuse me of making up idioms and using them like they are well known phrases and I think this song is full of those,” Margolin continues. “I love the idea of something being sick at the seams, like it’s disintegrating from its core. I like things that are so simple they are universal. I wanted it to sound like when your heart breaks so badly that your entire body aches. I wanted it to feel like your soul is dropping out of your body.”

In addition to “The Rip,” Waterslide, Diving Board, Ladder To The Sky features the previously released “Back To The Radio.”

Waterslide, Diving Board, Ladder to the Sky was co-produced by Tom Carmichael, Margolin, and drummer Sam Yardley. Margolin says she wanted the band’s next album to be “stadium-epic–like Coldplay.”

Check out the tracklist for Waterslide, Diving Board, Ladder to the Sky below.

Waterslide, Diving Board, Ladder to the Sky Tracklist:

01 – “Back to the Radio”
02 – “Trying”
03 – “Birthday Party”
04 – “End of Last Year”
05 – “Rotten”
06 – “U Can Be Happy If U Want To”
07 – “Flowers”
08 – “Jealousy”
09 – “I Hope She’s OK 2”
10 – “Splintered”
11 – “The Rip”
12 – “Waterslide, Diving Board, Ladder to the Sky”

[Read More] Porridge Radio cover Wolf Parade’s ‘You Are A Runner And I Am My Father’s Son’

Most Popular