HomeMusic NewsNew ReleasesPreoccupations Announce New Record, Share Single 'Espionage'

Preoccupations Announce New Record, Share Single ‘Espionage’

Calgary-based four-piece Preoccupations have announced that their new record, New Material, is set to arrive on March 23rd, via Flemish Eye in Canada (and Jagjaguwar in the rest of the world). The band lifted the lid on a new single, “Espionage,” to coincide with the announcement.

Preoccupations recorded the album themselves, and enlisted Justin Meldal-Johnson (M83, Wolf Alice) for mixing duties to “amplify the band’s singular post-punk grit.” Speaking about the forthcoming record, songwriter and bassist Matt Flegel says “It’s an ode to depression. To depression and self-sabotage, and looking inward at yourself with extreme hatred.”

Check out “Espionage” below.

Preoccupations kick off their tour in support of New Material in Toronto at the Horseshoe Tavern on April 14.

New Material track list
1. Espionage
2. Decompose
3. Disarray
4. Manipulation
5. Antidote
6. Solace
7. Doubt
8. Compliance

Most Popular