HomeMusicPreviously unreleased Prince track 'Hot Summer' is here

Previously unreleased Prince track ‘Hot Summer’ is here

A previously unreleased Prince track called “Hot Summer” is out now!

The new tune comes from the forthcoming posthumous album, Welcome 2 America, out next Friday, July 30th. The light summer anthem revolves around a groovy, danceable instrumental. With catchy harmonies and pulsing synths, this track will have you ready for a “Hot Summer.”

Listen to “Hot Summer” below.

Alongside the track, The Prince Estate has announced a new season of their podcast. This season will be called The Story of Welcome 2 America. It’s set to explore the making of the posthumous album. The first episode is out now. It sees Prince backing vocalist Elisa Fiorillo recounting how Prince took them for a drive by the beach after recording the tune.

“All those people were outside and I’m thinking it’s broad daylight, they’re gonna see him. But we didn’t care,” Fiorillo explains. “We had the windows rolled down and we were playing ‘Hot Summer.’ There’s nothing like driving in a car and listening to music and I think he agreed.”

Listen to the episode below.

Welcome 2 America features 11 original Prince tracks alongside a cover of Soul Asylum’s “Stand Up and B Strong.” While the tracks have never gotten an official release, Prince has played some of the songs live. The forthcoming deluxe edition of the album is set to also feature a Blu-ray concert film from Prince’s 2011 Inglewood, California stop during his “Welcome 2 America” tour.

The album features previously released Prince singles “Born 2 Die” and “Welcome 2 America.”

Most Popular