HomeMusicPUP pay tribute to Stefan Babcock's favourite guitar on new single 'Matilda'

PUP pay tribute to Stefan Babcock’s favourite guitar on new single ‘Matilda’

Toronto punk outfit PUP are back with a video for their anthemic new single, “Matilda.”

The track comes from PUP’s forthcoming album, THE UNRAVELING OF PUPTHEBAND, out April 1st via Little Dipper. “Matilda” is a quintessential PUP anthem, and it serves as an ode to frontman Stefan Babcock’s favourite rundown axe.

“‘Matilda’ is the name of my favourite guitar,” Babcock explains. “She was a gift from my friend Ryan, after watching me accidentally break the only guitar I owned in the middle of a long tour. I had no money to buy a replacement, and Ryan’s act of kindness is up there on my list of ‘nicest things anyone’s ever done for me.’ I played Matilda nonstop for 7 years at every PUP show, even when my bandmates started complaining that she sounded like shit. As the band got bigger, the pressure to sound better was building and so I bought a ‘good’ guitar and played Matilda less and less. Before I knew it I hadn’t played her in over a year.”

Watch the video for “Matilda” below.

“I wrote this song based on this intense feeling of guilt and sadness and shame and nostalgia and regret, watching her rot away in a corner,” Babcock continues. “I love this guitar and I love Ryan and wanted to do right by them, and I felt like I’d failed them both. I convinced the band that Matilda deserved one last rip on a PUP record, and I played her during the bridge of this song. It sounds so shitty. But good shitty. Great shitty. For me, it was the most joyful and cathartic moment in the entire making of this record.”

Check out the tracklist for THE UNRAVELING OF PUPTHEBAND below.


01 – “Four Chords”
02 – “Totally Fine”
03 – “Robot Writes A Love Song”
04 – “Matilda”
05 – “Relentless”
06 – “Four Chords Pt. II: Five Chords”
07 – “Waiting”
08 – “Habits”
09 – “Cutting Off The Corners”
10 – “Grim Reaping”
11 – “Four Chords Pt. III: Diminishing Returns”
12 – “PUPTHEBAND Inc. Is Filing For Bankruptcy”

In addition to “Matilda,” THE UNRAVELING OF PUPTHEBAND features previously released singles “Waiting” and “Robot Writes A Love Song.”

Most Popular