PUP, Shad highlight first round of performers announced for Polaris Gala

Marie Davidson, Dominique Fils-Aimé, and Elisapie also tabbed for September 16 date

The Polaris Music Prize has unveiled its first wave of performers confirmed to play at the September 16 gala at the Carlu in Toronto.

Toronto punk rockers PUP, rapper Shad, Marie Davidson, Dominique Fils-Aimé, and Elisapie are all set to perform at the annual event. Public tickets to the gala are limited and will go on sale via Ticketmaster at 2 p.m. ET on August 2. Polaris Music Prize organizers confirmed more performers will be announced in August.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration for genre or record sales. Additionally, the nine other nominated acts whose albums made the 2019 Short List will receive $3,000 each courtesy of Slaight Music.

The past winners of the Prize are: Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).